Underdressed or Overdressed?


I’ve come to the conclusion that everyone in Los Angeles NEVER dresses weather appropriate. Grace Kelly always dressed weather appropriate. Whether she was on the boat heading to Monaco for her wedding, or in Jamaica after winning her Oscar, or in Switzerland on vacation after she was married. How could she not? She was Grace Kelly. Even if it wasn’t weather appropriate, she made it weather appropriate because she was Grace Kelly.

I will be the first to admit though, that I am one of these people that doesn’t dress weather appropriate. I ALWAYS overdress for the weather. Maybe this is because I am always cold, but I’m pretty positive I look like an idiot sometimes because of this.

Today, I woke up this morning and had no idea what i was going to wear to work. Jeans, okay, those are a given. Ballet flats, another given. But what else to wear? Hmm, such a dilemma. I ended up picking a long white sleeve shirt, a black down hooded jacket, an a lavender jersey scarf. I walked into work this morning and the first thing one of my co-workers said to me was “Damn, bundled up much?” If I was still living in Chicago, or even home in Santa Rosa, this outfit may have been acceptable, but it’s 65 degrees outside today. I looked like I was about to go skiing, not sitting a mile from the beach.

Other wonderful weather inappropriate fashion on my part: wearing flip flops in Chicago in December, wearing a hooded sweatshirt outside in Chicago during the middle of a blizzard, wearing my winter coat in Los Angeles in September, wearing short sleeves after it gets dark in LA. Hey, this is technically a desert. It gets cold!

I’m not the only one who does this though. Living in Los Angeles, I’m privy to people who wear the most weather inappropriate stuff, both during winter and the summer. Below are some of my favorite weather inappropriate Los Angeles fashions.

UGG boots in the summer

GREAT idea. Clearly it was warm enough to wear shorts, but apparently your body doesn’t regular temperature well and your feet were freezing. Nothing says summer fun more than a pair of furry boots.

Scarves in the summer


This is probably the one I’m most okay with as I think it’s fine to rock a scarf whenever, but some people think it’s crazy. I think it’s just fashionable.

Flip Flops in the rain


Really? Really? I hate getting water in my shoes when they are closed toed. I can’t imagine people who think wearing flip flops while it rains is a genius and also comfortable idea.

As much as I hate on these three, I’ll be the first to admit, I’ve done every single of one of them. Sometimes you just can’t argue with fashion. Sometimes it’s what keep you warm or cool; sometimes it’s just about looking cool. Grace Kelly wouldn’t argue with looking cool.

One response to “Underdressed or Overdressed?

  1. This is so spot on! And like you, I've done all of these as well – especially the flip flops in the rain.

    My family likes to point out how "LA" I've become and I think they just mean that I've lost any ability to properly match clothing to the temperature.

Leave a Reply

